Posted by: Dal Watson | June 21, 2010

iBooks 1.1 for iPad – this changes everything, and you’re only limited by the power of your imagination

Back in January (2010) when Apple CEO Steve Jobs unveiled the iPad (@ 8:45 in this video time line), I couldn’t help but think about the iPad as a ‘presentation tool’ as well in several different ways. After all, I’ve been a professional salesman and presenter for over twenty years of my adult life, and my mind began to race about the various presentation possibilities/uses of this new device as Jobs talked about his latest Apple phenomenon.

Today, I got giddy all over again! With the release of iBooks 1.1 for iPad, for the first time since those ideas raced through my head some six months ago, they began to come to reality. The app’s webpage touts “What’s New in Version 1.1” (in part):

• Open and read PDF documents from Mail. PDF documents will be added to your library and appear on the PDF bookshelf. You can even search PDFs for words or phrases and bookmark your favorite pages.
• Take advantage of new ways to bookmark. In addition to highlighting a word or a passage, you can now also add notes or bookmark an entire page with the new page ribbon.
• Keep your bookmarks, notes, and your current page wirelessly in sync between iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch with the new automatic bookmark syncing feature.

As unconventional as this might sound, it’s the ‘PDF part’ that has me so excited (shown here @ 9:25 in the time line of Jobs’ recent WWDC Keynote address). I don’t know about you, but I use PDFs a great deal. I turn many of my (Microsoft Office 2007) Power Point presentations, Word and Excel documents into PDFs, and this new iBooks app handles and displays them brilliantly. Oh sure, there are other apps out there that can do the same (like PDFReader Pro, DocsToGo, and GoodReader just to name a few). But so far, none of those apps have handled my PDFs the way iBooks 1.1 has in both the ‘simple view’ as well as ‘presentation modes.’ Plus, there’s something about seeing my PDFs, most of which I created, sitting there on the iBooks bookshelf (this is probably as close as I’ll ever come to publishing something that would show up on those shelves).

The ‘search feature’ mentioned in the first bullet point above works really well too. I can now literally see myself uploading many ‘reference PDFs’ to my iPad and having immediate access to them in the field. Our company also puts out a newsletter written by SmartsPublishing.com that comes in PDF format. Now I have all my past newsletters in the palm of my hand to reference back to whenever I want/need to.

If you haven’t seen the ‘Apple iPad Dock Connector to VGA Adapter’ in the Apple Store or at your local Best Buy, it’s worth the $29.99 price tag. The iPad and VGA adapter will have you out and presenting with under 3 lbs. of technology. You’ll be sharper than a ‘rolling ball of butcher knives.’

The iPad is obviously an ever-evolving tool, but this was something that excited me so much, I just had to write about it here. And that why I truly believe what I said in my title above for this blog post:

“iBooks 1.1 for iPad – this changes everything, and your only limited by the power of your imagination”

I’d love to hear your comments, thoughts and observations below as well. Happy presenting & selling!

[Apple’s iOS 4 will reach iPad in November]


Leave a Reply

Categories

