Posted by: Dal Watson | January 7, 2010

What are ‘Twitter Lists’?:

[The Listorious 140 Lists – The Most Popular Lists on Twitter]

‘Twitter Lists’ are a fairly new feature on Twitter.com, but they are so very valuable in my opinion. I absolutely love them and think they are one of the best things to happen on Twitter in a long time.

You can have up to 20 different lists that you create yourself with up to 500 followers per list. To the best of my knowledge, there is no limit on how many Twitter Lists that you can follow that are created by other ‘tweeple’ on their Twitter profiles. My feeling is that nearly everyone that you follow needs to be in one of your Twitter Lists. Now you obviously don’t have to create 20 lists on your profile right off the bat, but as you grow the list of people that you follow, think about what category or categories of Twitter List(s) that they might fall into. Some people will be in just one of your Twitter Lists, while others might be in multiple Lists.

I recently went through all the people that I follow on Twitter and did two things: one, if they weren’t following me back and I didn’t have a compelling reason to continue following them, I deleted them from those that I follow on Twitter. Of those I kept following on Twitter, the vast, vast majority I placed in one and sometimes several Twitter Lists that I’ve created on my profile. Very few people that I follow on Twitter are not in at least one of my Twitter Lists. Now this is just my preference, but I thought it was worth sharing.

Below is a great video on how to set up Twitter Lists on your profile. I also invite you to explore the 20 Twitter Lists that I have set up on my Twitter Profile. I use Hootsuite to manage my tweets on Twitter and by doing so, I’m able to set up my Twitter Lists correspondingly into Hootsuite as well. So I basically have 20 “streams” of information at all times on different subject matter that’s of interest to me and/or my business. It will take you some time to create this, but in the end I feel like it’s worth it. Click this link to see my Twitter Lists.

One of my personal goals in social networking is to deliver great content to those that follow me and interact with me online. I want the information I share to be interesting and beneficial to all that I interact with. I think that’s an admirable goal for anyone involved in social media. Here are some other suggestions for finding ‘great content’ to share with your followers.

So when I want to find information for example of Human Resources, Marketing/PR, Motivational Quotes, Sports, Breaking News, etc., etc., etc., I don’t have to search Twitter, I just go to my “streams” of tweets on Twitter and it’s all right there for me ready to share if I so desire.

So watch this video below and start using Twitter Lists to your advantage today, and as you add new tweeple on Twitter that you follow, ask yourself, “what Twitter List or Lists should I include them in.” Again, in my opinion, if you can’t put them in one of your list, are they really worth following…you be the judge of that.

Do you use Twitter Lists now? What do you like/dislike about them? Do you use them differently than the way I described above? What are some other ways you use Twitter Lists that are beneficial to you? Please comment below.

[How to Market Your Business With Twitter Lists]

[Wefollow.com]

[What are Twitter ‘Twibes’]

[You can also find a list of ‘tweeple’ to follow on Twitter by category at TweepML.org >>> Here’s an example of “NFL Insiders and Team Reporters”]

[How To Use Social Media to Connect with Other Entrepreneurs]

[TwitterCounter.com]

[AutoFollowScript.com]


Responses

  1. […] – Using ‘Twitter Lists’ […]

  2. […] [What are 'Twitter Lists'?] […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

